Awards & Honours

awards_0007_Layer 0The Lepcha community felicitated the Hon’ble Chief Minister of West Bengal, Smt. Mamata Banerjee, on 3rd September 2013 at Mela Ground Kalimpong on the occasion of the 2nd Anniversary celebration of the announcement of Mayel Lyang Lepcha Development Board. The Honorable title of “Kingchoom Darmit” was conferred on her, which translated means “Conferrer of Fortune” or “Bhagya Bidhata” in gratitude for the recognition extended to the indigenous Lepchas in their demand for the all round development and the formation of the Board.
awards_0006_Layer 1Ren Lyangsong Tamsang, the Chairman of Mayel Lyang Lepcha Development Board was awarded the “Banga Vibhusan” award, the highest civilian award of the Government of West Bengal, which has made the Lepcha community proud of, on 20th May 2015 amidst a gathering of luminaries of various walks of life and distinguished guests. The Banga Vibhusan Award was bestowed upon him jointly by the Hon’ble Chief Minister, “Kingchoom Darmit” Mamata Banerjee and the Honorary Governor of West Bengal, Shri Keshari Nath Tripathi for his outstanding service for the development of the Lepcha community in and around the Darjeeling Hills.
awards_0005_Layer 2Ren Sonam Tshering Lepcha was the first among the Lepchas to receive the prestigious “Banga Vibhusan” award honoring distinguished personalities on the 20th of May 2014. Ren Sonam Tshering Lepcha was awarded the “Banga Vibhusan” for his contribution to the traditional Lepcha folk music, culture and verbal history. He is also the recipient of the highly coveted Padmashree award in 2006 by, the late A.P.J Abdul Kalam, 11th President of India from 2002 to 2007.
awards_0004_Layer 3awards_0003_Layer 4awards_0002_Layer 5pric-sec.jpgThe Chief Minister awarded the “Award of Excellence” to Sri Sanjay Mitra IAS Chief Secretary, Sri Basudeb Banerjee IAS, ACS Home Department, Sri GMP Reddy IPS, Director General of Police and Sri S K Thade IAS, Principal Secretary, TDD, Government of West Bengal. The award was instituted by the WBMLLDB to honour personalities who have been closely associated and rendered service to the Lepcha community.
awards_0006_Layer 1On the 20th January 2014, the “Sangeet Samman” Award was awarded by the Government of West Bengal ndividually to Ren S. T. Lepcha, Ren N. T. Lepcha, Ren Topden Lepcha, Ren Reman Lepcha, Renue Albina Lepcha, Renue Chokit Lepcha, Renue Mangalmit Lepcha and Renue Marmit Lepcha, all members of the Board’s Cultural Cell.
awards_0000_Layer 7The Mayel Lyang Lepcha Development Board conferred the title of ‘Ponboo Gomboo’ (which means the ‘Guardian of the Community’) and a citation to Ren Micheal Way of the Micheal Way Charitable Trust in grateful acknowledgement of the decade long dedicated support to the Lepcha community. The Trust assisted in printing primers, books, magazines in the Lepcha language, in organizing seminars for development of the language and culture, building houses, bridges, for building traditional houses on the brink of extinction, providing piped water and pathways in remote villages, opening medical camps, scholarship to students and even building of schools and the list goes on.
Ren Lyangsong Tamsang was conferred the prestigious Acharya Dinesh Chandra Sen Memorial Award ” by the Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata on 7 May 2016 for his outstanding contribution in the field of Folklore Research.
He received the award from His Excellency, the Governor of West Bengal on the day.